Joint NAWI Graz Professorships

Begin of page section: Contents:

Joint nomination of professors

Appointing a new professor is always a major decision for a university. It has a significant effect on how a particular subject is represented in terms of research and teaching on a long-term basis. In the case of NAWI Graz, the two universities have agreed to align future professorships located in the five NAWI Graz areas. This ensures that each discipline is represented comprehensively, and that both universities are able to stay future-oriented when deciding who to appoint.

Extending the existing practise of coordinating future nominations of professors in the area of natural sciences, both universities started to conduct the joint nomination of professors in 2010. Appointment committees in this nomination procedures consist of members from both universities. Using this approach, all experts are integrated into the process of finding the best scientist for an open position, and as a result, the professors nominated are perfectly integrated into the NAWI Graz cooperation right from the start.

The following professors (§ 98 University Act) have been nominated jointly:


NAWI Graz Professors in Bioscience
Name: Subject Allocation:Home Institute/University:Start:
Prof. Dr. Christoph SensenComputational BiotechnologyInstitute of Molecular Biotechnology 2014
Prof. Dr. Ronald KühnleinBiochemistry 1Institute of Molecular Biosciences 2016
Prof. Dr. Karl GruberBiocomputingInstitute of Molecular Biosciences 2016
Prof. Dr. Tomas WernerMolecular Plant Physiology (§ 99)Institut of Plant Sciences 2016
Prof. Dr. Robert KouristMolecular BiotechnologyInstitute of Molecular


NAWI Graz Professors in Chemistry
Name: Subject Allocation:Home Institute/University:Start:
Prof. Dr. Leonhard Grill
Physical ChemistryInstitute of Chemistry 2013
Prof. Dr. Adrian Daniel BoeseComputational Physical Chemistry                         Institute of Chemistry 2014
Prof. Dr. Paolo FalcaroBio-based Materials TechnologyInstitute of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry 2016
Prof. Dr. Martin WilkeningSolid State Chemistry of modern
Energy Storage Systems
Institute of Chemistry and Technology of Materials 2016
Prof. Dr. Tim ZeinerProcess Systems EngineeringInstitute of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Technology 2016


NAWI Graz Professors in ESES
Name: Subject Allocation:Home Institute/University:Start:
Prof. Dr. Torsten
Theoretical Geodesy and
Satellite Geodesy
Institute of Geodesy 2015
Prof. Dr. Thomas MarcherRock Mechanics and TunnellingInstitute of Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling 2018


NAWI Graz Professors in Mathematics
Name:Subject Allocation:Home Institute/University:Start:
Prof. Dr. Klemens FellnerMathematics/Computational SciencesInstitute of Mathematics 2011
Prof. Dr. Karin BaurAlgebraInstitute of Mathematics  2011
Prof. Dr. Jussi BehrndtDifferential EquationsInstitute of Computational Mathematics
(Math D)
Prof. Dr. Michael KerberComputational Topology and GeometryInstitute of Geometry 2015
Prof. Dr. Gunther LeobacherStochasticsInstitute of Mathematics 2017
Prof. Dr. Siegfried HörmannApplied StatisticsInstitute of Statistics 2017


NAWI Graz Professors in Physics
Name:Subject Allocation:Home Institute/University:Start:
Prof. Dr. Axel Maas

Theoretical Physics 2 (nonperturbative
quantum field theory)

Institute of Physics 2014
Prof. Dr. Martin SterrerExperimental Physics 1 (Surface Physics)Institute of Physics 2014
Prof. Dr. Martin SchultzeExperimental Physics with special emphasis on Optics and the Science of LightInstitute of Experimental Physics 2019



NAWI Graz Fulbright professorship



Concerted actions regarding the nomination of visiting professors also have a long tradition in Graz. For this reason, both universities have begun a cooperation with the Fulbright Commission, in order to establish the programme “Fulbright-NAWI Graz Visiting Professors in the Natural Sciences”. This programme aims to bring distinguished researchers from the United States to Graz for teaching as well as for research. Each Fulbright-NAWI Graz professorship is funded for a four-month period. Fulbright-NAWI Graz Visiting Professors are integrated into research and teaching at both universities, which makes the programme highly beneficial for students and researchers. Students attend lectures given in English by native speakers and researchers get the chance to start new partnerships.



NAWI Graz Fulbright Visiting Professors
Name:Subject Allocation:Home Institute USA: Academic Year:
Prof. Dr. William W. WoessnerHydrogeology

Department of Geosciences
University of Montana, Missoula, MT

Prof. Dr. Edina HarsayMolecular BiologyDepartment of Molecular Biosciences
University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS
Prof. Dr. Nicholas BaethAlgebra

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO

Prof. Dr. Karin RuhlandtInorganic ChemistryDepartment of Chemistry
Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY

Prof. Dr. Wayne BeckerMolecular BiologyDepartment of Botany, University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI2014-15
Prof. Dr. Andrew ProctorChemistryDepartment of Food Science, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville, AR2015-16
Prof. Dr. John ShervaisGeo SciencesDepartment of Geology, Utah State University, Logan, UT2016-17      
Prof. Dr. Reuben Hudson
Green ChemistryDepartment of Chemistry, Colby College, Waterville, ME2017-18
Prof. Dr. Irena SwansonAlgebraDepartment of Mathematics, Reed College, Portland, OR2018-19


End of this page section.
Go to overview of page sections.

Begin of page section:

End of this page section.
Go to overview of page sections.